Wednesday, January 27, 2016

Kisameet clay exhibits potent antibacterial activity against the ESKAPE pathogens A clique of six pathogenic microorganisms (Enterococcus faecium, Staphylococcus aureus, Klebsiella pneumoniae, Acinetobacter baumannii, Pseudomonas aeruginosa, and Enterobacter species) termed 'the ESKAPE pathogens' are responsible for a majority of hospital-acquired infections. Due to their capability to avoid the biocidal action of antibiotics and the immune response, they present critical threats in nosocomial pathogenesis worldwide and their therapeutic choices are extremely limited.  ... Read More

Monday, November 30, 2015

Congratulations to Robert Ragotte! We are very pleased to announce that one of our M&I undergraduate majors, Robert Ragotte, is one of only 60 students worldwide to be chosen as 2016 Rhodes Scholars.  The Rhodes Scholarship is one of the most prestigious international scholarships and will allow Rob to join a community of future world leaders as he pursues his D. Phil. in Infection, Immunology, and Translational Medicine at the University of Oxford. Robert Ragotte... Read More

Thursday, August 13, 2015

Congratulations to Darlene Birkenhead, MICB graduate program coordinator, on receiving a 2015 UBC President's Staff Award in the category of "Enhancing the UBC Experience".  Contributions to the UBC community that fall under several headings are recognized by this award.  Darlene is one of only 12 staff members from across UBC Vancouver who were selected to receive the President's Staff Award.

Wednesday, July 15, 2015 Congratulations to the following Postdoctoral fellows:  Dr. Stefanie Vogt (Finlay lab) Stefanie completed her Ph.D. at the University of Alberta in 2013 and now working in Dr. Brett Finlay lab. Project title: "Characterizing the interactions between attaching and effacing pathogens and the gastrointestinal microbiota"   Dr. Brett Eyford (Jefferies lab) Brett completed his Ph.D. at the University of Victoria with Terry Pearson and now working in Dr. Wilf Jefferies lab. Project... Read More

Thursday, July 9, 2015

Congratulations to Charles Thompson and Julian Davies, along with Natalie Strynadka (Biochemistry), Raymond Andersen (EOAS and Chemistry), Horatio Bach (UBC Medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases) for being awarded a special grant for "Innovative approaches to address antibacterial resistance". A ceremony announcing this award was held on April 13th in the LSC at UBC.